regret of not doing

“We must all suffer from one of two pains: the pain of discipline or the pain of regret. The difference is discipline weighs ounces while regret weighs tons.”

Jim Rohn

 

“Only if …” how many times have you heard that phrase as it relates to the experiences of life?   Years ago my wife and I rode a tandem bike from Colorado to the east coast.   Along the way we would speak to people who would say, “I wish we could have done something like that.”    People live a life of regret all too often.   Rarely do they sit down and plan out their dreams and make a commitment to making that dream come real.   Life will quickly move forward and it doesn’t matter what day it is the clock will tick away the seconds and the day after that the seconds will melt away.   If there is no plan, no intention to take action all that will be done when the sun sets is the same thing that happened yesterday.

As people reach their 40’s and their 50’s they suddenly realize that something is missing.   The life they were seeking in their 20’s and 30’s evaporated in the desire to prove themselves and in a few years there was nothing left to prove.   Life had left them; their purpose wasn’t what they thought it was.   Something was missing … the joy of life was missing.    Deep inside a flame awakened that called out for change, but a change to what, for what.

Today is the day to decide to live a life of intention, to live a life of joy, and to become the purpose that you were intended for.   

Waiting until tomorrow is waiting for a day that will never come.   There is always something pressing that must be done, there is always something in the way of the dream.

What action steps must you take today to start living the life of your dreams?

One response to “regret of not doing

  1. I recently got married and I’m expecting a little girl…I am content because I lived my life as a single lady to the fullest. I was conscious of the fact that I did not want to look back and sigh ‘if only I’d done that when it was just me…’

    So now I need to plan my life so that I don’t fall into the trap of putting it on hold while waiting… for the kids to start school… for the kids to leave home… just waiting.

    Thanks for this post. Inspiring.

Leave a Reply

