seek a purpose

“This is the true joy in life: Being used for a purpose recognized by yourself as a mighty one, being a force of nature instead of a feverish, selfish little clod of ailments and grievances, complaining that the world will not devote itself to making you happy. I am of the opinion that my life belongs to the whole community and as long as I live, it is my privilege to do for it what I can. It is a sort of splendid torch which I have got hold of for the moment and I want to make it burn as brightly as possible before handing it on to future generations. “

     

George Bernard Shaw from the Epistle Dedicatory to Arthur Bingham Wakley pg 17

 

To be used for a purpose recognized by yourself as a mighty one, is that your desire?   Some people wander through life looking for a purpose, for a cause that would shatter their belief that life isn’t filled with wonder and joy.  

Kierkegaard wrote, “The thing to understand is myself, to see what God really wishes me to do; the thing is to find a truth which is true for me, to find the idea for which I can live or die.”   In a sense we are all searching for our truth, our purpose, and our direction in life.   What are you searching for?

Viktor Frankl wrote, “Emotion, which is suffering, ceases to be suffering as soon as we form a clear and precise picture of it.”   Seek a destination of purpose, seek a purpose that is worthy.

Leave a Reply

