don’t you wish

“You are never given a wish without also being given the power to make it true. You may have to work for it, however.”   Richard Bach

Wisheswishes …more wishes …

I wish I had a new job.

I wish I had a new car.

I wish I had more money.

I wish I could go on vacation.

I wish I could have _______________   (fill in the blank).

What are you wishing for?

What would you do if you could find a way to make those wishes come true for you?   What would it feel like to find a new job, to patch a relationship, to earn more money?   Not through some quick fix program that promises more than could ever sound real, like how to be a millionaire in a few easy steps.

Getting results for you comes at a price and that price is commitment to a goal, a passion to improve and a desire to the real work that is necessary.  All to often people are looking for a quick way to get to their goals and the real answer is that it takes work and time.   There is no “secret” answer to success.  There is no “secret” formula that will make you rich.   Darren Hardy wrote this,  “No matter what your past has been, you have a spotless future.”, and that summarizes everyone’s future potential.

If you are wishing for something then start taking steps towards making that wish come true.   What steps would it take?  What new skills would it take?  What would it cost to get your wishes to come true?   Taking a realistic, objective and introspective look at who you are and what you want to do will start the process of making positive lasting change.

 

Identify,

What do I want to change?

When do I want to make the change?

What are the benefits of the change?

What am I scared of?

I have heard from people this, “When I start to change I always go back to where I was before and it looks like the same old thing.   Time after time I have tried to change and I get nowhere, what do I do then?”   It is frustrating to start to make a change and end up right back where you started, it is tiring to make attempts that don’t produce results.

I usually ask people what was their level of commitment to the change and how did they follow through with the change.  I ask them who was holding you accountable along the way.   I ask them what small steps that they were taking and how did they celebrate success as they moved forward.   In many cases people don’t celebrate success but they do take time to say, “I am not good enough”, “What an idiot”, “Who did I think I was to attempt change”, I guess I better just quit it’s not going to work anyway”.   Those phrases thought or spoken just pull a person down into a very negative place and that causes most people to quit.

So, what separates a person who does succeed and those that don’t?   The successful people push just a bit harder when the going gets tough.   Successful people work through the challenges and stand firm in the face of resistance.   (It doesn’t mean being foolhardy, it means being strong and creating opportunities to win).

What are you wishing for?   What do you want to do with your wishes?  When will you start making your wishes come true?

“Desire is the starting point of all achievement”  Napolean Hill

Leave a Reply

