procrastination … certainly it can wait

“If we accept and internalize the fact of our own mortality, then, by definition, we have to deal with the essential questions of how we live and spend our allotted time. We have to stop procrastinating, pretending that we have forever to do what we want to do and be what we long to be.”   Surya Das

Let the other person procrastinate while you take the opportunity.    If you wait for the other person to do what you have longed to do you won’t ever get started.   It is easier to put it off for a few more minutes, a hour, a day and before long a lifetime.   Perhaps it isn’t intentional that you are putting it off that goal, it just happens that way.   If you are telling yourself, “I know I’ll get started as soon as I finish up _________________”.   How important is that thing you are finishing up?   Is it just another diversion or delay in starting what you really know needs to be done.

Wait, wait, I can do that in 5 more minutes, it really won’t matter will it if I just wait five more minutes.   How long have you been waiting just five more minutes.   “I’ll get to it in a minute”, might be the words that are said, but in reality it was only a way to delay the start of what should have been done a day ago.

It was yesterday that you made that promise to yourself to change, to make your life better and more successful wasn’t it.   Before yesterday it was the day before, it was the same story a year ago when you promised yourself that you would change and now where are you?   If you are in the same place then procrastination hasn’t been your friend it is slowly and surely robbing you of the strength you need to make a difference.

“I’ll get to it, really I will”, are those your words?   What happened, did you really get to it?

For many people procrastination is a way of tricking the body into releasing adrenaline, a hormone that boosts your energy for a short period of time.  Sure, it has worked in the past and helped you with that last minute assignment, but is it working for you now?

Start with being honest with yourself.   Do you have a habit of putting things off?

What are you putting off now?

What have you been putting off?   What has the impact been?

What would you like to see different?

When will you begin?   When will you begin?

“If we wait for the moment when everything, absolutely everything is ready, we shall never begin.” ~Ivan Sergeyevich Turgenev

One response to “procrastination … certainly it can wait

  1. Good thoughts, Dan. I find that, in procrastinating over the things I do NOT want to do (i.e. homework), I am inadvertently procrastinating over the things I DO want to do (i.e. work on a drawing). Sometimes it works for me to do the things I have to do before I do the things I want to do, and sometimes it works for me to do the things I want first. Sometimes the mental release of working on a drawing leaves a more relaxed space in my mind to tackle the old homework. I really like the quote by Turgenev. If I waited, for example, until I had the “perfect setup” for my art studio to start drawing, it could be years and years. If I realize that I can set up a makeshift studio on a table in my apartment, I will get certainly more work done than zero. Thanks for the insights.

Leave a Reply

