chase the fear away

Olusegun Jegeda writes, “Fear is like a virus that wrecks havoc in our lives. It develops into mistrust, anxiety, worry, hopelessness, and other negative emotions. It paralyzes us and hinders our progress in life. When fear grips you, you become powerless. It’s the greatest obstacle to personal success.”   Psychology Today

Fear starts with the statement “what if …”.

What if I don’t get that new job.

What if I don’t have the money to pay the bills?

What if my manager gets upset with me again?

What if they fire me?

What if they keep me?

What if my company goes out of business?

What if my relationship ends up in divorce?

What if I don’t finish college?

What I am not smart enough?

What if I don’t look good enough?

What if I don’t get a promotion?

What if they ask me a question I don’t know the answer to?

What if I fail?

What if I succeed then what?

All those  “what if” statements that we create in our mind generate the sensation of fear or stress.   Your body’s reaction to that stress or fear is the release of hormones into your body so that it will react.   These hormones are powerful and that is the reason our heart elevates in rate, our breathing increases, our language changes and we begin to react rather than respond to the situation.

Think about where you are right now, what is holding you back?  What “what if” statement is running through you mind and what would you like to do about it?

Leave a Reply

