if I really wanted to …

“Desire is the key to motivation, but it’s determination and commitment to an unrelenting pursuit of your goal – a commitment to excellence – that will enable you to attain the success you seek.”
― Mario Andretti

Sept30_2007 112

“if I really wanted to …”, are those words you’ve mumbled to yourself in the quiet.   “If I really wanted to I would ______________” and it ends there doesn’t it?   The greatness of your potential slips by on the slippery rails of “if I wanted to.”

Our excuses lie at the bottom of a deep cavern called “if I wanted to …”.   Dreams, desires, passions and results look at you and ask, “do you really want to?” and your reply is, I would, “if I wanted to …”.

It is an easy way to hide and easy way to hold back from making the changes that would shift your life from what it is right now to something greater.   It is your mind and your beliefs that say, “don’t try that …”, and with just a little prodding the voice that says “try” falls silent.

What have you been saying, “if I wanted to …”  too?  Are you putting off making a change in your life, getting exercise, starting the diet, boosting your knowledge, fixing a broken relationship, changing the tires on the car, painting the siding, or washing the windows?

Whenever you say, “if I wanted to …”, you are finding a way to wait until tomorrow or the next day.   You are pushing now into the future and you are pushing your dreams into the future.    Maybe it is a good time to step back and check-in with yourself to see how many “if I wanted to’s”  are part of your day.

What have you been putting off with the “if I wanted to …” excuse?

Leave a Reply

