get off of your “but’s”

“Your complaints, your drama, your victim mentality, your whining, your blaming, and all of your excuses have NEVER gotten you even a single step closer to your goals or dreams. Let go of your nonsense. Let go of the delusion that you DESERVE better and go EARN it! Today is a new day!”
― Steve Maraboli

Get off of your “but’s

Have you ever said, “I would _______________ but _________________”?  Perhaps you have, or you’ve phrased a sentence and then added the word “but”.   But is the word that means “I have an excuse ready for not being able to do it.”   It doesn’t matter what it is the word but is what is used to stop personal and professional progress.

“I would start looking for a new job today but  I don’t have the time.”

“I would quit smoking but I enjoy  it too much.”

“I would lose weight but I stop eating.”

“I would start exercising but I don’t like doing it alone.”

Do any of those statements sound familiar to you?   How do you add the little three-letter word but into your excuses.   They are excuses aren’t they.   There is no intention of making a real change, not when the but word gets put into the sentence.   Using the word “but” gives you permission to delay or stop making the changes in your life that you know would benefit you.

Sean Stevenson would have some good excuses for not living life fully. It doesn’t appear that the word “but” is in Sean’s vocabulary. Meet Sean … listen to his story.

Leave a Reply

